The Department of Homeland security announced a new designation of Sudan and extension and redesignation of South Sudan for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months. Secretary Mayorkas addressed the armed conflict and political instability in South Sudan has displaced millions of residents. Mayorkas explained that with careful consideration of these circumstances, nationals of Sudan and South Sudan will be offered TPS until the conditions in each country improve and people can safely return. Individuals newly eligible for TPS under the Sudan designation must have continuously resided in the U.S. since March 1, 2022. This includes those who had previous TPS designation for Sudan, which required continuous residence in the U.S. on or before January 9, 2013.